Personal dosimetry

 
 

For personal dosimetry, the standard procedure is to wear an individual whole body dosemeter on the chest. Depending on the specific requirements, this can be supplemented with a wrist, finger, eye lens or lead apron dosemeter. Some 10,000 Belgians and Dutch are currently wearing a dosemeter of the Belgian Nuclear Research Centre.

The various types of dosemeters all consist of a holder in which the dosemeter itself is inserted. Inside the dosemeter are the detectors that are sensitive to both beta and gamma rays.

The radiation dose of professionally exposed employees is usually monitored on a monthly basis, but the exchange of the dosemeter every three months is also possible. The natural background radiation is subtracted from the result.

 

Body Dosemeter

As of today, SCK•CEN offers two types of personal dosemeters. TLD dosemeters are not offered anymore. In 2017, a new type of dosemeter was brought into use, the InLight dosemeter which is based on optically stimulated luminescence (OSL). From 2019 on, the Instadose dosemeter is also offered. This dosemeter uses a miniature ionisation chamber.  

InLight Body Dosemeter

The InLight dosemeter detects beta radiation as well as X-rays and gamma radiation. The dosemeter is made of four active items. The 4 detectors consist of carbon doped aluminium oxide but are also positioned behind 4 different filters included in the case. These filters allow to determine the energy of the incident radiation, so that the dosemeter responds in a tissue equivalent way to all radiation energies. This dosemeter detects beta radiation as well as X-rays and gamma radiation so that it measures the depth dose Hp(10) and the surface dose Hp(0,07). One of the advantages of this dosemeter is that we can read it multiple times.

Facts & Figures: InLight dosemeter

  • Minimum detectable dose: 50 µSv
  • Measuring range: 50 µSv to 10 Sv
  • X-rays and gamma energy range: 12 keV to 6 MeV
  • Beta energy range: 700 keV to 2.3 MeV (expressed in max E)
  • Small and light: 7.5 cm high, 1 cm thick, 18 g

More info in our leaflet

Instadose Body Dosemeter

InstadoseThe Instadose dosemeter of Mirion Technologies is based on the technique of Direct Ion Storage (DIS). Using this technique, incident ionizing radiation creates electrical charges in a small ionization chamber. This charge is then collected in a semi-conductor memory cell. The collected charge is a measure of the accumulated dose received. At the time of lecture, the charge is non-destructively determined via a voltage measurement. Charge is thus accumulated, it will never be lost. The dose for a given period is then evaluated as the difference between two measurements.

The Instadose dosemeter is available in two versions: Instadose+ and Instadose2. The second type measures as well Hp(10) as Hp(0.07). If your application does not require the measurement of Hp(0.07) you can opt for the slightly cheaper version, the instadose+.

Facts & Figures: Instadose dosimeter

  • Minimum detectable dose: 80 µSv
  • Measuring range: 80 µSv to 1 Sv
  • X-rays and gamma energy range: 24 keV to 1.25 MeV
  • Small and light: 5 cm high, 1 cm thick, 18 g

More info in our leaflet.

 

Finger dosimetry

If radioactive products are manipulated by hand, it may be necessary to also wear a finger and/or wrist dosemeter in addition to a body dosemeter on the chest. Like a body dosemeter, a wrist dosemeter contains three detectors. Ring dosemeters consist of a plastic ring with one single thermoluminescent detector.
When a ring or wrist dosemeter is worn, it is important that the detector is directed as much as possible towards the source of radioactivity; usually this means facing the inside of the hand or the wrist. Examples of personnel who wear finger dosemeters are operators working in a nuclear medical department or people working in glove boxes.

 

Eye lens dosimetry

The existing dose limits for the eye lens were recently made stricter. This means that it is recommended to wear an eye lens dosemeter for certain applications, for example for cardiologists who are working in an interventional cardiology department. Please contact the SCK•CEN dosimetry expert group for information in this field.

 

Lead apron dosimetry

When a lead apron is used for radiation protection, the question arises as to whether the dosemeter should be worn above or underneath the lead apron. In this case, SCK•CEN suggests double dosimetry. The person then wears a body dosemeter above as well as underneath the lead apron. For the read-out and reporting of the exposure dose, the dosimetry laboratory uses an algorithm that takes the results of both dosemeters into account.

Dosimétrie individuelle

 
 

Pour la dosimétrie personnelle, les mesures s’effectuent en général individuellement au moyen d’un dosimètre corporel, porté sur la poitrine. En fonction des besoins spécifiques, celui-ci peut être complété par un dosimètre bague, poignet, cristallin ou tablier de plomb. À l’heure actuelle, quelque 10.000 Belges et Néerlandais portent un dosimètre du Centre d’Etude de l’Energie Nucléaire.

Les différents types de dosimètres sont tous constitués d’un support sur lequel est monté le dosimètre. Le dosimètre contient les détecteurs qui sont sensibles aussi bien au rayonnement bêta que gamma.

La dose de radiation des travailleurs professionnellement exposés est généralement contrôlée tous les mois mais un remplacement trimestriel du dosimètre est également possible. Le rayonnement naturel est déduit des résultats.

 

Dosimètre de corps

Pour l’instant, le SCK•CEN offre deux sortes de dosimètre personnel. Les dosimètres du type TLD ne sont plus offerts. En 2017, un nouveau type de dosimètre est entré en fonction, le dosimètre InLight, basé sur la luminescence stimulée optiquement (OSL). À partir de 2019 le dosimètre Instadose est également offert, ce dosimètre utilise une chambre d’ionisation miniature.

Dosimètre de corps InLight

Le dosimètre InLight réagit aussi bien aux rayonnements beta qu’aux rayonnements X et gamma. Le dosimètre est composé de quatre éléments actifs. Les 4 détecteurs sont composés d’oxyde d’aluminium dopé au carbone et sont placés derrière 4 filtres différents dans le boîtier. Ces filtres servent à mesurer l’énergie des rayonnements incidents de sorte que le dosimètre réagisse de façon équivalente au tissu à tous les rayonnements énergétiques. Ce dosimètre réagit aussi bien aux rayonnements beta qu’aux rayonnements X et gamma de sorte que qu’il mesure aussi bien la dose en profondeur Hp(10) que la dose de surface Hp(0,07). L’un des avantages de ce dosimètre est qu’il peut être lu à plusieurs reprises.

Facts & Figures: InLight dosemeter

  • Dose minimale détectable : 50 µSv
  • Échelle de mesure : 50 µSv à 10 Sv
  • Gamme d’énergie des rayonnements X et gamma : 12 keV à 6 MeV
  • Gamme d’énergie des rayonnements beta : 700 keV à 2.3 MeV (exprimé en E maximal)
  • Petit et léger : 7.5 cm de hauteur, 1 cm d’épaisseur, 18 g

Plus d’informations dans notre brochure 

Dosimètre de corps Instadose

Le dosimètre Instadose de Mirion Technologies est basé sur le principe du stockage ionique direct (Direct Ion Storage en anglais ou DIS). Par ce processus, le rayonnement ionisant incident crée des charges électriques dans une chambre d'ionisation miniature. Ces charges sont ensuite stockées dans une cellule mémoire à semi-conducteurs. La quantité de charge dans la cellule mémoire est une mesure de la dose de rayonnement accumulée. Lors de la lecture, la charge est déterminée de manière non destructive par une mesure de tension. La charge s'accumule donc et n'est jamais perdue. La dose sur une période donnée est ensuite calculée en faisant la différence entre deux lectures.

Le dosimètre Instadose est disponible en deux versions : Instadose+ et Instadose2. Le deuxième type mesure tant Hp(10) que Hp(0.07). Si votre application ne nécessite pas la mesure Hp(0.07) vous pouvez opter pour la version légèrement moins chère, l’instadose+.

Facts & Figures: Instadose dosemeter

  • Dose minimale détectable : 80 µSv
  • Échelle de mesure : 80 µSv à 1 Sv
  • Gamme d’énergie des rayonnements X et gamma : 24 keV à 1.25 MeV
  • Petit et léger : 5 cm de hauteur, 1 cm d’épaisseur, 18 g

Plus d’informations dans notre brochure.

 

Dosimètre bague

Lorsque des produits radioactifs sont manipulés à la main, il peut être nécessaire de porter, en plus du dosimètre corporel sur la poitrine, un dosimètre au doigt et/ou au poignet. Un dosimètre poignet comprend, tout comme un dosimètre corporel, trois détecteurs. Les dosimètres bagues se composent quant à eux d’une bague en plastique qui n’intègre qu’un seul détecteur thermoluminescent.
Lors du port d’un dosimètre bague ou poignet, il est important que le détecteur soit orienté le plus possible vers la source radioactive ; celle-ci se situe généralement du côté intérieur de la main ou du poignet. Les opérateurs actifs dans des services de médecine nucléaire ou les personnes travaillant avec une boîte à gants sont notamment amenés à porter des dosimètres bagues.

 

Dosimétrie cristallin

Pour le cristallin, des doses limites ont également été définies – et récemment renforcées. Cela signifie que le port d’un dosimètre cristallin est conseillé pour certaines applications, par exemple pour les cardiologues qui travaillent dans un service de cardiologie interventionnelle. Pour ce type de dosimètres, vous pouvez également vous adresser au service de dosimétrie du SCK•CEN.

 

Dosimétrie pour tablier de plomb

Lorsqu’un tablier de plomb est utilisé, la question se pose si le dosimètre doit être porté au-dessus ou en dessous du tablier. Le SCK•CEN propose dans ce cas une dosimétrie double. La personne porte alors un dosimètre corporel au-dessus et en dessous du tablier. Pour l’interprétation de la dose, le laboratoire de dosimétrie utilise un algorithme qui tient compte des résultats des deux dosimètres.