Environmental dosimetry

 

The monitoring of radiation doses released into the environment is required in some locations in the vicinity of nuclear or medical installations. In Belgium, special measuring poles with dosemeters are installed in the vicinity of nuclear installations. The SCK•CEN dosimetry service monitors environmental doses at several installations, for example around the nuclear power plant in Doel.

Environmental dosemeters are read out and exchanged every three months. The detectors are highly sensitive, and are not affected by strong fluctuations in the weather conditions. Based on the results of these measurements, the natural background radiation is determined and any deviating results are monitored.

The natural background radiation primarily consists of cosmic radiation and radiation originating from the earth. Human activities may increase this background level, but this usually represents only a minor increase.

Dosimétrie Environnementale

 

À certains endroits à proximité des installations nucléaires ou médicales, il est obligatoire de mesurer les doses de radiation environnementale. En Belgique, des dosimètres spéciaux ont été installés autour des sites nucléaires. Le service de dosimétrie du SCK•CEN assure la dosimétrie environnementale de plusieurs installations, par exemple autour de la centrale nucléaire de Doel.

Les dosimètres environnementaux sont lus et remplacés tous les trois mois. Les détecteurs sont très sensibles et ne sont pas affectés par des variations climatiques importantes. La radiation naturelle est déterminée au moyen de ces mesures, et les écarts éventuels sont surveillés.

La radioactivité naturelle est essentiellement constituée du rayonnement cosmique et du rayonnement terrestre. L’activité humaine peut augmenter ce niveau de radioactivité naturelle mais dans une mesure généralement minime.