Our Services

Dosimetry at SCK•CEN

For over 50 years, the Belgian Nuclear Research Centre has been providing dosimetric services to many companies, hospitals and dentists through the supply and reading of thermoluminescent dosemeters (TLDs). This type of dosemeters can be used for personal dosimetry (including the use in combination with a lead apron), finger dosimetry, wrist dosimetry, eye lens dosimetry and environmental dosimetry.

For staff working in installations involving a risk of criticality accidents, we provide criticality dosemeters. You can also contact us with respect to advice on neutron dosemeters. We assist you in your search for the most suitable solution for your personal or your staff’s dosimetric monitoring.

Quality assured

The laboratory for dosimetry developed a Quality Assurance or QA programme according to ISO/IEC 17025 and accredited by BELAC, the Belgian accreditation organisation. Since 2010, the SCK•CEN dosimetry laboratory is also the first legally recognised dosimetry service provider in Belgium approved by the Federal Agency for Nuclear Control (FANC). More information about the policy and regulations with regard to dosimetry are available on the FANC website. This website will also inform you of the legal dose limits

In addition to the provision of services, scientific research is also a key focus of the laboratory for dosimetry. Our research group has been involved in national and international research projects in the area of dosimetry for many years. In this way, we contribute to the research on state-of-the art technologies, and are able to guarantee you the best service in this field.

How does a dosemeter work?

The so-called TLD contains thermoluminescent detectors. These minute crystals store some of the energy of the incoming ionising radiation. In order to determine the accumulated dose, the dosemeter is ‘read’ by means of a dedicated device. During this process, the previously stored energy is converted into visible light by heating; the amount of light is a measure for the accumulated radiation dose.

Nos services

La dosimétrie au SCK•CEN

Depuis plus de 50 ans, le Centre d’Étude de l’Énergie Nucléaire gère la dosimétrie de nombreuses entreprises, hôpitaux et cabinets dentaires, en leur fournissant et en lisant des dosimètres thermoluminescents (TLD). Ce type de dosimètres peut être utilisé pour la dosimétrie individuelle (et notamment pour une utilisation avec un tablier de plomb), la dosimétrie de doigt, la dosimétrie poignet, la dosimétrie du cristallin ainsi que pour la dosimétrie environnementale.

Pour le personnel travaillant dans des installations présentant des risques d’accidents de criticité, nous mettons à disposition des dosimètres de criticité. Nous fournissons également des conseils relatifs aux dosimètres de neutrons. Nous recherchons avec vous la solution la plus adaptée pour la surveillance dosimétrique de votre personnel.

L’assurance de la qualité

Le laboratoire de dosimétrie a développé un programme QA (Quality Assurance) conforme à la norme ISO/IEC 17025 et est accrédité par BELAC, l’Organisme belge d’Accréditation. En 2010, le laboratoire de dosimétrie du SCK•CEN fut le premier service de dosimétrie en Belgique à être légalement agréé par l’Agence Fédérale de Contrôle Nucléaire (AFCN). Vous trouverez sur le site Internet de l’AFCN de plus amples informations sur la gestion et la réglementation en matière de dosimétrie. Vous y trouverez également les limites de doses légales.

Outre la prestation de services, le laboratoire de dosimétrie se consacre également à la recherche scientifique. Depuis de nombreuses années, notre groupe de recherche participe à des projets de recherche nationaux et internationaux dans le domaine de la dosimétrie. Nous contribuons ainsi au développement de nouvelles technologies, pour vous offrir un service optimal.

Comment fonctionne un dosimètre?

Le TLD contient des détecteurs thermoluminescents. Ces petits cristaux collectent une partie de l’énergie du rayonnement ionisant incident. Pour déterminer la dose encourue, le dosimètre est « lu » au moyen d’un appareil spécial. Pendant ce processus, l’énergie précédemment absorbée est convertie par chauffage en lumière visible. La quantité de lumière est une mesure de la dose de radiation encourue.